BombBomb's real-time tracking helps you see who has watched your videos and when they've watched them — helping you determine when to follow up with your most engaged contacts. But did you know that you can also receive notifications of what percentage of a video your viewer watched?
Knowing how much of a video someone watched can help you strategize how to best follow up with your recipients so they can have a relevant and personable experience.
How do I turn on "Video Watched Notifications"?
Click on your name in the top right corner of your account and select "Settings" from the drop-down menu.
Select the "Settings" option from the "Account Settings" menu on the left side of your screen.
From your settings page toggle on the "Video Watched Notification."
These emails will replace the "real-time notification" emails (video plays) that you turn on through your BombBomb settings in the Quick Send and email composer. This function is available for every subscriber at BombBomb, so you can utilize this feature whether you're on a team or an individual user!
Note: Once you turn this feature on, the function will apply to all BombBomb videos you've sent during your subscription history.
How do you calculate the percentage viewed?
Whether the recipient watches all of your video immediately or starts to watch the video and pauses, BombBomb will wait 20 minutes after the recipient hits "play" until determining the percentage watched. This allows the recipient to come back and finish watching the video if they paused it, and it also lets enough time pass for our system to detect how much of the video they watched.
If the recipient has not finished watching your entire video by that time, BombBomb will still send a notification at the 20-minute mark. (To see more detailed tracking information, you can click the "View Video Results" button to view the tracking page.)
Why does it say "someone" viewed the video?
If you send an email to more than one person from Gmail or Outlook, or if you share a video via URL or embed code, BombBomb does not have access to the viewer's identity. Your notification will identify that "someone" watched your video in these cases. (You will still get an email notification and a percentage of the video that has been watched.)
Note: If you send an email to more than one person from the BombBomb application, we will be able to identify the specific recipients who are watching your video.
For more information on BombBomb Notifications, check out: Re/Actions Video 'likes' and replies.